2017 Awards Gallery

Click any photo to launch gallery.

Twenty-three categories of film, television, commercials and live theater were honored at The Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards February 19, 2017. Winners in the film categories include La La Land, Nocturnal Animals, Suicide Squad, Hail Caesar! and Star Trek Beyond. Television winners included Westworld, Dancing With the Stars, Game of Thrones, The Rocky Horror Picture Show and The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.

The awards took place at The Novo by Microsoft at L.A. Live before an audience of more than 700, including guild members, industry executives and press. MUAHS President Sue Cabral-Ebert presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Loni Love (The Real) serving as host for the second year in a row. M.A.C. Cosmetics served as the Diamond Sponsor and the Official Cocktail Reception Sponsor.

Ryan Murphy, four-time Emmy® Award-winning producer, received the Distinguished Artisan Award, presented by Darren Criss (Glee). Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Emmy-nominated make-up artist Leonard Engelman and Oscar® and Emmy-nominated hair stylist Barbara Lorenz (La La Land). Engleman’s longtime client Cher could not attend the show, but prepared a video tribute in honor of the Lifetime Achievement honoree.

Presenters for this year’s awards included Oscar-winning make-up artist and 2015 MUAHS Lifetime Achievement recipient Rick BakerCharlotte Ross (Arrow), Violett Beane (The Flash), Chelsea Kane and Melissa Peterman (Baby Daddy)Logan Browning (Netflix’s Dear White People), Meg Donnelly (American Housewife)Kate Linder (The Young and the Restless), Bill Brochtrup (Criminal Minds), Mark D. Espinoza (The Bold and the Beautiful), Mara Hall (Grey’s Anatomy), Riley Schmid(Scream Queens) and former Academy president Hawk Koch. Catering was provided by Wolfgang Puck, and entertainment was provided by DJ Gianna courtesy of Hey Mister DJ.