Awards Host and Presenters Named

   The Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild (IATSE, Local 706) presents the Annual

Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards, honoring excellence in make-up and hair styling in motion pictures, television, commercials and live theater.

WHEN:  SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2017 | 6:00 PM – 10:00 PM

5:30 p.m.         Press Check-in

6:00 p.m.*       Red Carpet Arrivals

7:00 p.m.         Awards Program (only open to approved media)


WHERE:  THE NOVO BY MICROSOFT AT L.A. LIVE, 800 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015

WHO: Comedian LONI LOVE (The Real) to host. Four-time Emmy® nominee RYAN MURPHY to be honored with the Distinguished Artisan Award. Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to Emmy-nominated Make-Up Artist LEONARD ENGELMAN and Oscar® and Emmy-nominated Hair Stylist BARBARA LORENZ (La La Land).

Award presenters include Oscar®-winning make-up artist and 2015 MUAHS Lifetime Achievement recipient RICK BAKER (Maleficent), CHARLOTTE ROSS (Arrow), VIOLETT BEANE (The Flash), CHELSEA KANE (Baby Daddy), LOGAN BROWNING (Netflix’s Dear White People), MEG DONNELLY (American Housewife), KATE LINDER (The Young and the Restless), BILL BROCHTRUP (Criminal Minds), MARK D. ESPINOZA (The Bold and the Beautiful), MARA HALL (Grey’s Anatomy), RILEY SCHMIDT (Scream Queens) and former Academy president HAWK KOCH.

2107 presentersComedian, actress, TV host and author, Loni Love will return for the second year as host. Named by Variety as “One of the top ten comics to watch,” Love has taken stand-up comedy to new heights. Love found her niche as a co-host on the hit Fox Daytime Talk show The Real, as well as a recurring guest DJ on The Ellen DeGeneres Show. She currently co-hosts the Café Mocha radio show with rapper MC Lyte, the only nationally syndicated show of its kind.

Besides her work with television, Love starred last year in Mother’s Day alongside Jennifer Aniston, Kate Hudson and Julia Roberts. Her additional movie credits include Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2 (2015) with Kevin James, Soul Plane with Kevin Hart and the Bad Ass franchise with Danny Glover. Her latest book, “Love Him Or Leave Him, but Don’t Get Stuck With theTab: Hilarious Advice for Real Women” was published in 2014.

As previously announced, Ryan Murphy, four-time Emmy® Award-winning producer, director and screenwriter, will receive this year’s Distinguished Artisan Award. Emmy-nominated make-up artist Leonard Engelman and Oscar and Emmy-nominated hair stylist Barbara Lorenz (La La Land), will receive the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Awards. Nominees in 23 categories honoring outstanding achievements in motion pictures, television, commercials and live theater were announced on Jan. 11, 2017 and can be viewed here.

Winners will be announced on February 19 at the Awards gala and live on Twitter via @Local_706 (#MUAHSawards). Further inquiries regarding the MUAHS Awards may be directed to Kathy Sain in the MUAHS Awards Office at 818.295.3933 or

MUAHS Awards is proudly sponsored by: Diamond Sponsor: M.A.C. Cosmetics; Ruby Sponsor: Ardell Professional; Sapphire Sponsors: Hask Beauty, Nigel Beauty Emporium; Emerald Sponsor: CROC, Make-Up Designory, RCMA Makeup; Double Platinum Sponsors: Focus Features, Netflix; Platinum Sponsors: Beverly Center, Fox Television, FX Networks, HBO, IATSE Local 798 (Make-up Artists & Hair Stylists), Paramount, Universal Pictures; Silver Sponsors: Cinema Make-Up School, Cinema Secrets Criterion Group Dermaflage, Kryolan, Make Up For Ever, The Make Up Show; Premiere Products, Schwartzkopf Professional and Skindinavia. Gift bag sponsors include Ardell Professional, Brush Off, DHC Skin Care, European Body Art, Freeze Frames, Frends Beauty, Hair & Pins, Hempz, Hygeniskin, IT Cosmetics, Jovovo Naturals, Kevyn Aucoin, Novex Hair Care, ONLY YOURx, Pro Vision Care Associates, Qosmedix, Schwarzkopf; In-Kind Sponsors: The Powder Group, The Makeup Light and LirpaMakeup L.A. Media SponsorsThe Hollywood Reporter, SHOOTonline and Variety.


To request credentials to cover the red carpet, please apply online at


The Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild (IATSE, Local 706) was chartered in November 1937. Today, membership includes over 1,900 artisans in the entertainment industry worldwide. Local 706 members are make-up artists and hair stylists who have created the looks for Hollywood’s most memorable characters and stars of stage, screen, television and now the Internet. The wide-ranging domains of these artists include feature films and television, commercials; “live” network television, all types of theatrical productions and Disneyland theme parks. Local 706 Members have created notable characters competing for Academy Awards®, Primetime Emmys®, Daytime Entertainment Emmys®, Saturn Awards®, BAFTA Awards®, and many other honors for make-up and hair styling artistry including their own Hollywood Make-up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards. The Local 706 Guild publishes The Artisan, a glossy quarterly magazine, and provides panels, workshops and training both for members and others interested in the field to foster a spirit of innovation in the craft. For more information, visit or get #MUAHSawards updates on Facebook Twitter (@Local706) and Instagram.


Cheri Warner · Nicole Player · Weissman/Markovitz Communications

818.760.8995 · ·


Dan Evans · IngleDodd Media

(310) 918-4882 ·